Kim Tae Hee, “‘Jang Ok Jung’ Is The First Drama That Made Her Feel So Anxious”

27 Jun

Actress Kim Tae Hee, the heroine of the SBS Monday-Tuesday drama ‘Jang Ok Jung, Live in Love’, revealed her thoughts about the drama that she safely finished filming for.

In the last episode of ‘Jang Ok Jung’ that aired on the 25th, Kim Tae Hee perfectly expressed the tragic situation where Ok Jung drinks deadly poison, capturing interest from the viewers. In a situation where she valued the life of her lover over her own while expressing the pain of an unfulfilled love, she earnestly acted like no one else could have.

On the 27th, Kim Tae Hee was at the Asia Economy office where she stated that “this is the first time that I was this anxious while filming a drama.”

Kim Tae Hee has received recognition for popular dramas such as ‘My Princess’, ‘IRIS’ and ‘Stairway to Heaven’. However, the average rating for ‘Jang Ok Jung’ was 9.4%, falling short of expectations.

Kim Tae Hee’s potential shines in the midst of a crisis. The drama received its highest ratings during episode 17 during Ok Jung’s childbirth scene, and the drama finished with double digit ratings at 10.3%.

“This was the first time that I was this anxious while filming for a drama. It was like a brand new environment. Since I was the only one, I matched up my schedule with a convenient time slot for myself and used the “watch the drama again” service finding out that viewers had many ways to watch the drama. During that time, I felt lucky. I wasn’t too hung up on ratings, I was focusing on acting well enough to bring in good numbers. I realized how hard it was to break the 10% barrier through this drama, and I gained valuable experience from it. I came to believe that I must repay the viewers through a good project.”

‘Jang Ok Jung’ is an important drama to Kim Tae Hee in various facets. She chose the sageuk ‘Jang Ok Jung’ as her comeback drama two years after the MBC drama ‘My Princess’. Kim Tae Hee hadn’t attempted a sageuk at all since her debut, making this a huge challenge for her as an actress.

As soon as the covering of ‘Jang Ok Jung’ was removed, Kim Tae Hee’s acting in a sageuk shined. There was a part that arose worry because it was different, and that was the fact that Kim Tae Hee was going to express the Jang Hee Bin we all came to know through a new interpretation where she would become a bedroom court lady after being a Joseon fashion designer.

In the drama, Kim Tae Hee showed off her appearance as a woman who ceaselessly loved her man, her maternal instincts after she lost her child, and her ambitions to protect her own status. There were various scenes that showed off Kim tae Hee’s diversity, such as the childbirth scene that seemed real.

Although the ratings couldn’t reach a satisfactory result, the ‘rediscovery’ of Kim Tae Hee in her first sageuk role is something that couldn’t just easily go unnoticed by the viewers.

Although we must say goodbye to ‘Jang Ok Jung’ in disappointment, the one thing we can confirm is that Kim Tae Hee’s development through this drama is a great present for her fans.

Source

Translation: The Real CZ @ Hallyu Interview

9 Responses to “Kim Tae Hee, “‘Jang Ok Jung’ Is The First Drama That Made Her Feel So Anxious””

  1. ratgirlina June 27, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    thank you for the translation. i didnt realize media such asia economy cover entertainment too?

    she’s very mature. it truly was a gift for us viewers her JOJ.

    what did the article meant by: Although we must say goodbye to ‘Jang Ok Jung’ in disappointment,

    disappointment because of the low ratings? or what?

    • therealcz June 27, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      I believe the disappointment is in reference to the low ratings, but there wasn’t enough context in the original Korean sentence.

      All of the major news sites cover entertainment, but entertainment is just one section of their news coverage. It’s unlike Newsen, a site solely dedicated to covering entertainment news.

      • ratgirlina June 27, 2013 at 9:20 am #

        thanx for the explanation. can i ask one more thing, since i cant read korean. which media is considered prestigious and it’s opinion highly considered in the entertainment world in korea?

      • therealcz June 27, 2013 at 10:50 am #

        I believe when it comes to sites purely based on entertainment, Dispatch is the most trusted source. However, I really don’t trust many entertainment outlets in Korea because they get most of their ideas for articles from message boards.

  2. ratgirlina June 28, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    thank you for the translation and for taking the time to answer. 🙂

  3. Anonymous June 30, 2013 at 9:09 am #

    for me jang ok jung is the best….

  4. Nani Anemone June 30, 2013 at 9:17 am #

    I love Kim Tae Hee, but didn’t watch Jang Ok Jung, because I just can’t watch any dramas about Lady Jang Hee Bin, after watching Queen In Hyun’s Man. Although Jang Hee Bin may be the greatest female villain of Korea’s history, she is still portrayed as some kind of victim and heroine in many dramas.
    However, from what I researched after watching Queen In Hyun’s Man, Queen In Hyun is the real victim and Lady Jang deserved to be condemned to drink poison. I mean, she tried to kill Queen In Hyun. And I think she actually didn’t even love King Suk Jong.
    Lady Jang is just a heartless woman, who wanted power and her son to be king. She doesn’t deserve pity, but I know I would pity her if I watched a drama with her as the main character. I don’t want to feel sorry for her, so I just don’t watch any drama that portrays her as some kind of victim of the society.

  5. theannewonderland July 1, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Thank you very much for this translation. Great improvement in this lovely lady acting. Loved her ♥
    One more thing, Jang Ok Jung Live in Love is the best saeguk drama ever I watched so far.

  6. LazerKim May 5, 2014 at 7:08 pm #

    Who cares about ratings for as long as I enjoy watching the drama and I think this is the best romantic drama I have ever watched. Jang Ok Jung may not have a good reputation in the history of Korea as how she was described in other drama plots like in Dong Yi, but I believe there’s always a good side of any human no matter how bad that person may be, just my opinion.

    I love this drama as a whole that I can watch over and over again specially the romantic scenes made me fall in love!!, I’m not a fan of any of the lead here but I love the chemistry between Kim Tae Hee and Yoo Ah In, I think they did a good job in this drama. Kim Tae is a versatile actress, she can portray a bad girl and an innocent character perfectly. I hope to see her in more sageuk dramas.

    While Yoo Ah In, as far as seeing him in his other previous dramas I think historical genre suits him. As he was compared with Kim Soo Hyun in playing lead roles as young prince or King I can see the similarities between the two, but then again everyone has his own individual uniqueness. My hats off to both and hoping to see them in more sageuk dramas. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

