Actress Lee Yeon Hee’s Position on Her ‘Acting Controversy’

6 Nov

Actress Lee Yeon Hee truthfully revealed her own thoughts about the ‘acting controversy’ that is following her as if it’s her label.

On the 5th, Lee Yeon Hee held an interview with a reporter from SportsSeoul.com in a cafe in Samcheong-dong, Jongro-gu, Seoul to promote the movie ‘Marriage Blues’. While talking about her thoughts on returning to the big screen after five years, one of the topics brought up was the acting controversy that always surrounds her. She revealed her confidence by stating “I admit that there are a lot of parts where I personally made many mistakes. I’m still learning, as ever. I plan to show a new side of myself in the upcoming MBC drama ‘Miss Korea’.”

Lee Yeon Hee, who debuted in 2001, has been mired in many acting controversies. People pointed out her incorrect pronunciation and emotionless acting among many factors, and the controversy reached its peak with MBC’s 2008 drama ‘East of Eden’ and SBS’s 2011 drama ‘Paradise Ranch’. Though she had already reached the status of leading lady, many held the dominant opinion that was too excessive of her to have that status.

Lee Yeon Hee’s matured acting through last year’s SBS drama ‘Ghost’ quieted down the controversy for the most part, and she received praise this year that her acting had developed to the next level through the MBC drama ‘Gu Family Book’. What meaning does ‘acting controversy’ have to Lee Yeon Hee, who is experiencing ups and downs and growing pains as an actress?

Lee Yeon stated “I know that people have evaluated me that way. As much as many people have pointed out, of course I’m putting a lot of effort now into the areas where I need to put in that effort. There are definitely parts in a drama where I need to ability to react quickly, but I’m not used to it yet. I’m learning as I’m shooting more dramas. It seems like I’m still learning.”

Yeon Hee added “Actors are antiquated with the fact that the drama environment still has piecemeal scripts, and that isn’t a sufficient environment for acting. As an actress, I have to become used to this environment, but to be honest, it’s hard. That is why I have appeared in many projects lately. Right now I’m focusing on my comeback drama ‘Miss Korea’.”

In the drama that Yeon Hee mentioned, Miss Korea, it is set in the year 1997, depicting the process of an ordinary woman becoming Miss Korea. It’s the first time that Yeon Hee is leading the drama while synchronizing with an actor. Lee Yeon Hee can say that this is exclusively her drama.

Lee Yeon Hee solidified her determination by saying “The subject matter and role were both peculiar, so I chose this project. If I intend to express the Miss Korea of that era, I’ll have to wear the lion hair and wear a blue swimsuit,” and she laughed before continuing “Once my schedule for promoting the movie ‘Marriage Blues’ is over, I’ll become busier. I intend to show my new appearance properly because I’m preparing properly.”

Source

Translation: The Real CZ @ Hallyu Interview

Leave a Reply

