Han Ye Seul “Advancing to Hollywood? I’ll Take That Chance Without Wavering”

31 Oct

Actress Han Ye Seul will venture into voice-over dubbing in “Monsters vs Aliens,” which opens this year on April 23.

Han Ye Seul plays the role of Ginormica, who one day suddenly obtains great power, and Han Ye Seul will put her own bubbliness into the role.

Han Ye Seul didn’t lose her smile as she interviewed with reporters with a flushed face, and she was said to be excited for the first time she did voice dubbing. When talking about when Kiefer Sutherland praised Han Ye Seul, she was so embarrassed that she covered her face.

How was doing dubbing for the first time?

Back in the day, the audio on the filming set wasn’t good, so we had to redo the voicing, so dubbing wasn’t unfamiliar to me. However, this wasn’t me acting, and dubbing an English movie into Korean felt like homework to me. I was devoted to my role despite its difficulty.

How was working with Kiefer Sutherland?

It’s something that will last with me for a lifetime (Laughs). I have been a fan of his for a long time. Back then, I couldn’t even imagine myself become an actress and standing on the same stage next to him. It’s very honoring. Though this was the first time we met, he was very gentle. It made me feel very good that he complimented me (that I resembled Reese Witherspoon) (Laughs).

How do you feel about dubbing?

Honestly, I worried that I would be in tune with a character’s movements by only acting with my voice. Just hearing my voice is really strange. In the beginning, I even thought that I ruined this big project. However, after dubbing my voice, I saw the characters live and move, and I thought it was charming and amazing.

If you had to guess the number of viewers…

It would be good if the number wasn’t less than “Shrek” and “Kung Fu Panda” (Laughs).

If there was another offer to do dubbing for a Hollywood movie…

Of course I would want to do it. Even if it’s a small role, it seems like it would be fun. Even at the agency they are reviewing roles like that. It would be fun to dub roles into English as well. Back then, I saw Zhang Ziyi do dubbing. That was nice seeing an Asian actress do it first.

Forget dubbing, are there any plans to advance into Hollywood?

If an opportunity came, I would grab it without wavering. Though I would be under an incredible burden, my personality is the time to do something first and then see it (Laughs). No matter what I would do about the burden I feel, I would grab that opportunity with a whip. I would first start and then later work hard like crazy (Laughs).

What kind of side of yourself do you want to show in the future?

I will continue to attempt to play different characters. Though I have strong points, there are areas that I can improve upon. I want to show an appearance of myself improving and shattering the preconceptions about me. It’s like a game to me. I am fiercely competitive for a year and as my ability increases, I want to feel the satisfaction of leveling up (Laughs).

Source

Translation: The Real CZ @ Hallyu Interview

Leave a Reply

